Chamber Calendar

Mountain West Trade Mission to UAE & Turkey

Oct 24 - 1, 2014

Networking Without Limits

Nov 7, 2014
8:45 AM - 11:00 AM

WBC: Visit Peru without Leaving Your Seat

Nov 12, 2014
2:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Justin Jones 
VP of Public Policy & Communications
Start or renew your membership and involvement with the Chamber today!

Join the Salt Lake Chamber

Salt Lake Chamber names new board chair, vice chair

SALT LAKE CITY (June 29, 2012) Having celebrated its 125th anniversary as Utah’s largest and longest-standing business association, the Salt Lake Chamber has named Ray Pickup as the 104th person to serve as chairman of the Board of Governors. Pickup, president and CEO of Workers Compensation Fund (WCF) will serve a one-year term beginning July 1, 2012.
“I’m honored to be entrusted with such a role in an organization that has such a long and rich history,” said Pickup. “The Chamber plays a critical role in the strength of our economy and community and we will continue our work to build a strong economy in our state.”
In addition to well established Board priorities to enhance education, invest in infrastructure, reform immigration, clean the air, contain health care costs and renew downtown Salt Lake City, Pickup has identified three priority areas for the coming year:
- Olympics – Support state efforts to bid for another Olympic Winter Games
- Tech and tourism – Focus on improving services to the technology, life science and tourism industries
 - Emergency preparedness – Improve the preparation of Utah businesses for natural disasters and other emergencies
“Ray has played a critical role as our vice chair and we’re excited to benefit from his leadership over the next year,” said Lane Beattie, president and CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber. “The entire state benefits from the selfless service and dedication to our economy demonstrated by the talented executives who serve on our Board of Governors.”
In his role with WCF, Pickup oversees providing insurance to more than 20,000 Utah companies.
Pickup takes over as chair for David Golden, executive vice president and manager of Wells Fargo Commercial Banking’s Mountain Division. As immediate past chair, Golden will continue to play an active roll on the Executive Board.
The vacancy in the vice chairmanship of the Chamber’s Board of Governors will be filled by Questar chairman, president and CEO Ron Jibson. For the past year, Jibson has served as chair of the Chamber’s Public Policy Task Committee.
The Executive Board includes leaders from a cross-section of the Utah economy including banking, health care, mining, legal, publishing, construction, marketing, property management and energy. Businesses of all sizes are represented on
the board.  
Images available: 
Ray Pickup:
Ron Jibson:
David Golden:
All-time Salt Lake Chamber Board Chairs
1902            William A. Nelden
1904            Col. Edwin F. Holmes
1905            Heber M. Wells
1906            Charles A. Quigley
1907            W.J. Halloran
1910            Joy H. Johnson
1912            W.W. Armstrong
1913            Dr. E.D. Woodruff
1914            W.F. Jensen
1915            George A. Steiner
1916            F.C. Richmond
1919            Lester D. Freed
1920            C.B. Hawley
1921            F.C. Schramm
1922            L.B. Hampton
1923            Ross Beason
1924            Frank B. Cook
1925            Beverly S. Clendenin
1926            Malcolm A. Keyser
1927            Edward M. Ashton
1928            James J. Burke
1929            E.O. Howard
1930            Harold P. Fabian
1931            H.J. Plumhof
1932            A.S. Brown
1933            D.D. Muir, Jr.
1934            Paul F. Keyser
1935            W.E. Ryberg
1936            John M. Wallace
1937            Charles N. Fehr
1938            Marion C. Nelson
1939            Herbert A. Snow
1940            Charles L. Wheeler
1941            Earl J. Glade
1942            F.H. Knickerbocker
1944            F.S. Mulock
1945            F.M. Michelsen
1946            M.L. Dye
1947            Frank B. Streator
1948            W.P. Dunn
1949            Glen L. Stanley
1950            Thornton D. Morris
1951            C. Cash Rampton
1952            Howard W. Price
1953            Sid H. Eliason
1954            W.T. Nightingale
1955            Frederick R. Hinckley
1956            Edward M. Naughton
1957            W.L. Fields
1958            Oscar A. Glaeser
1959            Dilworth S. Woolley
1960            F. Gerald Irvine
1961            Ned Winder
1962            John P. O’Keefe
1963            M.M. Fidlar
1964            Ted C. Jacobsen
1965            Kenneth J. Sullivan
1966            Edward W. Jenkins
1967            Scharf S. Sumner
1968            Fred F. Auerbach
1969            Arch L. Madsen
1970            Richard A. Van Winkle
1971            E. Allan Hunter
1972            Warren E. Pugh
1973            Dr. Paul D. Keller
1974            John E. Lattin
1975            S. Chris Johnson
1976            Richard W. Wells
1977            B.Z. Kastler
1978            Wendell J. Ashton
1979            Ashby S. Decker
1980            Thomas W. Lindblom
1981            Desmond J. Barker, Jr.
1982            Boyd A. Blackner
1983            John M. Scowcroft
1984            John A. Dahlstrom
1985            Robert H. Garff
1986            H. Roger Boyer
1987            D. N. (Nick) Rose
1988            Wm. James Mortimer
1989            W. Mack Lawrence
1990            Mark Miller
1991            R. Don Cash
1992            L. Scott Nelson
1993            Verl R. Topham
1994            Kenneth Y. Knight
1995            Arlen B. Crouch
1996            Stephen D. Swindle
1997            Mark W. Stromberg
1998            Alan S. Layton
1999            William H. Nelson
2000            Patricia A. Richards
2001            Kem C. Gardner
2002            A. Scott Anderson
2003            A. Scott Anderson and Prescott Muir
2004            Mark Howell
2005            Clark D. Ivory
2006            Keith Rattie
2007            Scott Hymas
2008            Chris Redgrave
2009            Jake Boyer
2010            Scott Parson
2011            David Golden
2012            Ray Pickup
About the Chamber
The Salt Lake Chamber is Utah’s largest business association and Utah’s business leader. A statewide chamber of commerce with members in all 29 Utah counties, the Chamber represents 7,700 businesses and approximately 500,000 Utah jobs—nearly half the workforce of our state. With roots that date back to 1887, the Chamber stands as the voice of business, supports its members’ success and champions community prosperity.