Chamber Calendar

Afternoon Jump Start: Intro to Entrepreneurship

Feb 4, 2015
3:30 PM - 5:00 PM

WBC: Morning Jump Start-Intro to Entrepreneurship

Feb 18, 2015
8:30 AM - 10:00 AM

Business Essentials: Powerhouse Utah Women

Feb 25, 2015
7:30 AM - 9:00 AM
Justin Jones 
VP of Public Policy & Communications
Start or renew your membership and involvement with the Chamber today!

Join the Salt Lake Chamber

Gail Miller named 2012 ATHENA, five women receive Pathfinder award

SALT LAKE CITY- (September 4, 2012) The Salt Lake Chamber, Utah’s largest and longest-standing statewide business association, has named Gail Miller as the 2012 ATHENA Award recipient. The award will officially be presented Nov. 15, 2012 at the 36th Annual Salt Lake Chamber Women’s Business Center American Express Women & Business Conference and Wells Fargo ATHENA Award luncheon.
“Gail Miller is simply the persona of elegance, dignity, dedication and perseverance.  Her calming influence is an example to our entire state as she continues to devote herself to all that is good,” said Lane Beattie, president and CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber. “Her influence in the business community is only exceeded by her commitment to the entire community. Gail shows compassion and understanding with a willingness to help wherever needed to achieve excellence.”
There are very few women who have done more for the community than Gail Miller. She has been extremely generous with her time and money by supporting health and wellness issues for women and children, and has personally seen that hundreds of young women receive college scholarships so they can have the opportunity to become professional leaders in their fields of choice.
Gail Miller is the owner of the Larry H. Miller Group of Companies and serves as chairman of the organization’s advisory board.  She is actively engaged in the various operations of the company, including the administration of the Larry H. & Gail Miller Family Foundation.
Many said the company would fall following the death of Gail’s husband, Larry H. Miller. Because Gail knew the organization she was able to pull things together with the help of family and managers, and not only keep the company growing, but sustain it through a tough recession. The company has continued to grow and is currently enjoying record successes.
About the ATHENA
The ATHENA International Award, sponsored by Wells Fargo, is a prestigious national award presented annually to an active member of the Salt Lake Chamber who demonstrates excellence, creativity and initiative in business, provides valuable service by devoting time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community, and assists women in reaching their full leadership potential.
Established in 1982 in Lansing, Michigan, the ATHENA Award ®Program is now administered from its Chicago, Illinois, headquarters and boasts over 300 active communities in the United States, Canada, China, Russia and the United Kingdom. More than 5,000 individuals representing a wide variety of professions and businesses have received the ATHENA Award. Presented by local host organizations in partnership with ATHENA’s national underwriters, local businesses and individual sponsors the award practically demonstrates the quote from Plato, “What is honored in a country will be cultivated there.” The award takes the form of a hand-cast bronze sculpture symbolizing the strength, courage and wisdom of the recipient.
In addition to the ATHENA Award, five women will receive the Pathfinder awards. The Pathfinder Awards are presented annually to community leaders who create new paths that promote the development and recognition of women in business. 2012 recipients include:
·      Dr. Sarah George, Natural History Museum of Utah
·      Debra Hoyt, Questar Corporation
·      Dr. Vivian Lee, University of Utah Health Science
·      Dr. Susan Madsen, Utah Valley University
·      Molly Mazzolini, Infinite Scale
Beverley Taylor Sorenson was honored with the ATHENA Award in 2011. Other recent recipients include Senator Pat Jones (2008), Governor Olene Walker (2004) and Patricia Richards of Wells Fargo (2000) who was the first woman to chair the Salt Lake Chamber Board of Governors.
About the Pathfinders
The Pathfinder Awards are presented annually during the American Express Women & Business Conference during the Wells Fargo ATHENA Award Luncheon to a select number of worthy community leaders who have a history of support for women and women’s issues and who have worked to further the development and recognition of women. This award has been a traditional part of the conference for many years.
Past ATHENA Recipients
2011 Beverley Taylor Sorenson, Sorenson Foundation
2010 Cynthia Bioteau, Salt Lake Community College
2009 Chris Redgrave, Bonneville Salt Lake Radio Group
2008 Patricia Jones, Dan Jones & Associates
2007 Margo Provost, Log Haven
2006 Marilyn Tang, Certified Handling Systems
2005 Pamela Atkinson, Community Advocate
2004 Gov. Olene Walker, Utah State Governor
2003 Becky Berkey Potts, AT&T Wireless
2002 Susan Glasmann, Questar Gas Company
2001 Lori Giovannoni, Lori Giovannoni and Associates
2000 Patricia Richards, First Security Bank
1999 Lorraine Miller, Cactus & Tropicals
1998 Deborah Bayle, American Red Cross Greater Salt Lake Area Chapter
1997 Carol Carter, IC Products
1996 Ramona Rudert, Predictable Building Systems
1995 Joan Lewis, Nesco Service, Inc.
1993 June Morris, Morris Air
1992 Rhoda Ramsey, Ramsey Group N.
1991 Patricia Freston, Ph.D., Questar Corporation
1990 Jacqueline Nicholes, Quality Press
1988 Carol Browning, CLU
1987 Patricia Shoemaker Glessner, KSL TV
1986 Isabelle Jensen, Questar Corporation
1985 Carol Fay, Internal Revenue Services
1984 Phyllis Steorts, Westin Hotel Utah
About the Chamber
The Salt Lake Chamber is Utah’s largest business association and Utah’s business leader. A statewide chamber of commerce with members in all 29 Utah counties, the Chamber represents 7,700 businesses and approximately 500,000 Utah jobs—nearly half the workforce of our state. With roots that date back to 1887, the Chamber has stood as the voice of business, supporting its members’ success and championing community prosperity for over a century.