SALT LAKE CITY (December 18, 2018) – Derek Miller, president and CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber, and Wade Sherman, co-chair of the Utah Transportation Coalition issued the following statement on Utah County’s passage of .25% sales tax for transportation funding:

“We applaud the Utah County Commission’s vote today in favor of the fourth-quarter cent sales tax to fund local roads and transit. As our population across our state continues to grow, funding for local, multimodal transportation infrastructure will be more important than ever. This local sales tax option is a conservative investment that will maintain current infrastructure and address local transit and transportation needs into the future. We commend Utah County for taking this much needed step and becoming the fourth county along the Wasatch Front to fund our transportation future and ensure we keep Utah moving.”