Earlier today the Small Business Administration approved the Governor’s request for an SBA Disaster Declaration for the state of Utah. Administrator Jovita Carranza approved the request for the primary counties of Salt Lake, San Juan, Summit, Utah, Wasatch, Washington and Wayne. The contiguous counties of Carbon, Daggett, Davis, Duchesne, Emery, Garfield, Grand, Iron, Juab, Kane, Morgan, Piute, Rich, Sanpete, Sevier and Tooele also fall under the declaration.

This is good news because it opens up low interest federal dollars to provide bridge funding for small businesses and private, non-profit organizations that are experiencing adverse economic impact due to the coronavirus. Please understand that this is one piece of the puzzle that is being put together to help make sure our businesses and non-profits remain open. 

Now that Utah has received an approved declaration small business owners are encouraged to apply online in the Disaster Loan Application Portal at disasterloan.sba.gov/ela/. The electronic loan application will be screened by the processing center upon receival. 

Lastly, these loans are made by private lending institutions such as Zions Bank but will receive the favorable government backed terms and low rates. For specific program assistance or questions regarding the online application, please contact the Customer Care Center at 1-800-659-2955 or disastercustomerservice@sba.gov.