The business community recognizes the impact and importance of Senator Orrin Hatch’s 42 years of service

SALT LAKE CITY (January 25, 2018) – The Salt Lake Chamber, Utah’s largest and longest-standing statewide business association, has announced that Senator Orrin Hatch will be honored as the 39th Giant In Our City. The award honors those with exceptional and distinguished service and extraordinary professional achievement, and is widely recognized as the most prestigious business award given in Utah.

“In the history of the State of Utah no other individual legislator has had greater impact. Senator Orrin Hatch spent the entirety of his career dedicated to the citizens of Utah, as well as the state’s business community,” said Lane Beattie, president and CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber. “Senator Hatch has shown that he is not only a great politician, but also a great statesman. He has been a peacemaker and a collaborator in getting things done to move America forward, and more importantly, Orrin Hatch has always done what he believes is necessary for the next generation.”

Now in his seventh, and final, term as Utah’s senator, Orrin Hatch is the most senior Republican in the Senate and the longest-serving Republican senator in United States history. Hatch became the President Pro Tempore of the Senate in 2015. Among his many initiatives are the Balanced Budget Amendment to the Constitution, the Strengthening Our Commitment to Legal Immigration and America’s Security Act, the Religious Freedom Restoration Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act, and the Utah School Trust Lands Exchange Act.

“For more than four decades, Senator Hatch has spent his career fighting for those who could not fight for themselves,” said Wilford Clyde, chair of the Salt Lake Chamber Board of Governors. “He has given so much to the State of Utah. For his devotion to the citizens of Utah and to our country, we are pleased to be honoring Senator Hatch with this award.”

Senator Orrin Hatch is the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Finance. He is also a member (and former Chairman) of the Judiciary Committee; a member (and former Chairman) of the Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee; and a member of the Joint Committee on Taxation. He also has the honor of serving on the Board of Directors for the Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C.

Senator Hatch will officially be presented with the award at the ceremony at the Grand America Hotel in Salt Lake City.

Additional information, including sponsorship opportunities and program information can be found at:


Kimberly Flores
(801) 328-5089

About the Chamber

The Salt Lake Chamber is Utah’s largest business association and Utah’s business leader. A statewide chamber of commerce with members in all 29 Utah counties, the Chamber represents 8,000 businesses and approximately 500,000 Utah jobs—nearly half the workforce of our state. With roots that date back to 1887, the Chamber stands as the voice of business, supports its members’ success and champions community prosperity.

About A Giant In Our City

The Salt Lake Chamber Board of Governors established the Giant In Our City award in 1969. The award was created to honor exceptional and distinguished public service and extraordinary professional achievement. It is considered the Chamber’s most prestigious award and is given periodically by the Chamber Board of Governors.

Past Giant In Our City Recipients

1970: Eric C. Aaberg

1972: Clarence Bamberger

1974: E.M. Naughton

1977: John M. and Glenn Wallace

1978: N. Eldon Tanner

1981: John W. Gallivan

1982: George S. Eccles

1984: Richard A. Van Winkle

1985: Wendell J. Ashton

1986: Arch L. Madsen

1987: B.Z. Kastler

1990: S. Chris Johnson

1992: Gov. Calvin R. Rampton

1994: G. Frank Joklik

1995: Fred S. Ball

1998: Kenneth Y. Knight

1999: Scott S. Parker

2000: Verl Topham

2001: Spencer Eccles

2002: W. Mitt Romney

2003: Don Cash

2003: Nick Rose

2003: President Gordon B. Hinckley

2005: Jon M. Huntsman

2006: James LeVoy Sorenson

2007: Larry H. Miller

2008: William H. (Bill) Nelson

2009: Roger Boyer

2009: Ellis Ivory

2010: Bishop Carolyn Tanner Irish

2011: Bishop H. David Burton

2012: Kem Gardner

2013: Harris H. Simmons

2013: A. Scott Anderson

2014: Michael O. Leavitt

2015: Gail Miller

2016: Ron Jibson

2017: Lane Beattie