SALT LAKE CITY (MAY 2, 2018) – The Salt Lake Chamber, Utah’s largest and longest-standing statewide business association, announces Speaker Paul Ryan as the keynote speaker at the 39th Giant in our City. The event, which will be held at the Grand America Hotel on June 9, 2018, will honor Senator Orrin Hatch with the Giant in our City award. The award honors those with exceptional and distinguished service and extraordinary professional achievement, and is widely recognized as the most prestigious business award given in Utah.

“In the history of the State of Utah no other individual legislator has had greater impact than Senator Orrin Hatch. He has spent the entirety of his career dedicated to the citizens of Utah and this state’s business community,” said Lane Beattie, president and CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber. “We are pleased that Speaker Ryan, someone who has worked so closely with Senator Hatch to develop and enact legislation that has helped Utah and the rest of the country unlock economic growth, will be in attendance to help us honor this great statesman.”

Now in his seventh, and final, term as Utah’s senator, Orrin Hatch is the most senior Republican in the Senate and the longest-serving Republican senator in United States history. Hatch became the President Pro Tempore of the Senate in 2015. Among his many initiatives are the Balanced Budget Amendment to the Constitution, the Strengthening Our Commitment to Legal Immigration and America’s Security Act, the Religious Freedom Restoration Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act, and the Utah School Trust Lands Exchange Act.

Senator Orrin Hatch is the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Finance. He is also a member (and former Chairman) of the Judiciary Committee; a member (and former Chairman) of the Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee; and a member of the Joint Committee on Taxation. He also has the honor of serving on the Board of Directors for the Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C.

Senator Hatch will officially be presented with the Giant in our City award at the ceremony on June 9, 2018, at the Grand America Hotel in Salt Lake City.

Additional information, including sponsorship opportunities and program information can be found at:


About the Chamber
The Salt Lake Chamber is Utah’s largest business association and Utah’s business leader. A statewide chamber of commerce with members in all 29 Utah counties, the Chamber represents the broad interests of the state’s 63,000-plus employers, which employ more than 1.4 million Utahns. This includes thousands of Chamber members and their employees. With roots that date back to 1887, the Chamber stands as the voice of business, supports its members’ success and champions community prosperity.

About Giant in our City

The Salt Lake Chamber Board of Governors established the Giant In Our City award in 1969. The award was created to honor exceptional and distinguished public service and extraordinary professional achievement. It is considered the Chamber’s most prestigious award and is given periodically by the Chamber Board of Governors.

Past Giant in our City Recipients

1970: Eric C. Aaberg

1972: Clarence Bamberger

1974: E.M. Naughton

1977: John M. and Glenn Wallace

1978: N. Eldon Tanner

1981: John W. Gallivan

1982: George S. Eccles

1984: Richard A. Van Winkle

1985: Wendell J. Ashton

1986: Arch L. Madsen

1987: B.Z. Kastler

1990: S. Chris Johnson

1992: Gov. Calvin R. Rampton

1994: G. Frank Joklik

1995: Fred S. Ball

1998: Kenneth Y. Knight

1999: Scott S. Parker

2000: Verl Topham

2001: Spencer Eccles

2002: W. Mitt Romney

2003: Don Cash

2003: Nick Rose

2003: President Gordon B. Hinckley

2005: Jon M. Huntsman

2006: James LeVoy Sorenson

2007: Larry H. Miller

2008: William H. (Bill) Nelson

2009: Roger Boyer

2009: Ellis Ivory

2010: Bishop Carolyn Tanner Irish

2011: Bishop H. David Burton

2012: Kem Gardner

2013: Harris H. Simmons

2013: A. Scott Anderson

2014: Michael O. Leavitt

2015: Gail Miller

2016: Ron Jibson

2017: Lane Beattie