Salt Lake City, UT–March 14, 2019–The Utah Chapter of CCIM honored finalists in 25 award categories and recognized five new and redeveloped projects at its 2019 Excellence Awards event. Held at the Grand America Hotel on Saturday, March 9th the annual awards program honored professionals within Utah’s commercial real estate industry who exemplify the highest degree of business excellence, as well as highlighted some of the year’s most notable projects and transactions. This year’s event theme was “Growth for the Greater Good.”

Recipients for the top sale and lease transactions of the year were awarded in each commercial property type, as well as the top producer for each property type. Also, as previously announced, the top developments of the year and annual Hall of Fame award were given; this year’s Hall of Fame recipient was Dell Loy Hansen, founder and chief executive officer of Wasatch Commercial Management, Inc., a Wasatch Group Company. In addition to the award winners, three scholarships—funded jointly by Price Real Estate and the Utah CCIM Chapter—were awarded to students at the University of Utah.

Ronda Landa, CCIM Utah Excellence Awards Chair, commented, “The foundation of CCIM is to educate the commercial real estate professional; it is through education that we elevate ourselves personally and professionally. Saturday evening, we recognized individuals and projects which have elevated our marketplace and truly represent how, as the Utah market grows and continues to receive national recognition, we are focused on sustainable, smart growth—growth for the greater good.”

The 2019 winners in each category are:

Top Retail Transactions

Top Retail Lease: Nordstrom Rack – Stuart Thain, Colliers International

Top Retail Sale: The Shops at Fort Union – Ben Brown, Mountain West & Pete Bethea, Newmark Grubb ACRES

Top Industrial Transactions

Top Industrial Lease: Bullfrog International – Michael Jeppesen & Jeremy Jensen, IPG Commercial

Top Industrial Sale: Codale Portfolio – Bryce Blanchard, Newmark Grubb ACRES

Top Multifamily Transaction

Top Multifamily Sale: Acacia Portfolio – Eli Mills & Patrick Bodnar, CBRE

Top Office Transactions

Top Office Lease: L3 – Mike Richmond & Dana Baird, Cushman & Wakefield

Top Office Sale: Automobile Association Building – Craig Thomas & Vickey Walker, CBRE

Top Investment Transaction

Top Investment Sale: Gateway Office Portfolio – Eli Mills & Patrick Bodnar, CBRE

Top Specialty Transaction

Top Specialty Sale: Spring Gardens – McSean Thompson, Newmark Grubb ACRES

Hall of Fame

Dell Loy Hansen, Wasatch Commercial Management, Inc.

Architectural Firm of the Year

Doug Thimm, Architectural Nexus

Commercial Lender of the Year (Over $75 Million)

Irena R. Edwards, KeyBank Real Estate Capital

Community Leader of the Year (Under $75 Million)

Dave Lundberg, Mountain America Credit Union

Contractor of the Year

Layton Construction

Mortgage Broker of the Year

Johnny Clawson, CCIM, The Clawson Group

Industrial Broker of the Year

Tom Dischmann, CBRE

Investment Broker of the Year

Kip Paul, Cushman & Wakefield

Multifamily Broker of the Year

Danny Shin, Marcus & Millichap

Office Broker of the Year

Brandon Fugal, Colliers International

Property Manager of the Year

Graydon Pearson, In Group Hospitality

Real Estate Attorney of the Year

Barton Gertsch, Parr Brown Gee & Loveless

Retail Broker of the Year

Stuart Thain, Colliers International

Rookie of the Year

Andrew Knudsen, Marcus & Millichap

Specialty Broker of the Year

Ryan Flint, Colliers International

CCIM of the Year

Jan Wilkin, CCIM, Bershire Hathaway

Price Real Estate/CCIM Scholarship Recipients

Amanda Dillian, Serra Lakomski, and Damian Mora

Development Winners

Office Development: Grove Tower, St. John Properties

Retail Development: The Gateway, Vestar

Specialty Development: AC Marriott Hotel, PEG Development/Woodbine Development

Industrial Development: 201 Commerce, DLM Development

Multifamily Development: Hardware Apartments, SALT Development

For more information about the Excellence Awards, visit:

The Utah CCIM Chapter created the Utah CCIM Excellence Awards, now the premier gathering of business leaders in Utah, to recognize the accomplishments of outstanding men and women who exemplify the highest degree of business excellence in the commercial real estate industry. The CCIM designation, or Certified Commercial  Investment Member, is a premier commercial real estate certification that requires 100+ hours of training and considerable investment. Learn more at