The Utah Chapter of CCIM held its annual Excellence Awards on May 4th, an event honoring professionals within Utah’s commercial real estate industry who exemplify the highest degree of business excellence. Throughout the evening, the state’s top commercial transactions were highlighted, along with the industry’s top performers spanning 16 different categories. The pinnacle of the event was the Hall of Fame award, which was given posthumously to Nathan Ricks, Co-Founder of STACK Real Estate. The 2024 event theme was ‘Elevating Excellence.’

“Once a year, we as an industry get the opportunity to gather together and celebrate one another’s accomplishments, and this year marked another successful event for our organization,” noted Nate Worthen, CCIM, current Utah CCIM Chapter President. 

Katie Wilking, Utah CCIM Chapter 2023 President and co-host of this year’s event, added, “Our event theme ‘Elevating Excellence’ encapsulates the spirit of progress and innovation that drives us forward. It’s meant to serve as a reminder of our industry’s collective mission to continually raise the bar, push boundaries and set new benchmarks of achievement—the very efforts this event celebrates. I want to extend this year’s winners a big congratulations and wish them the best of luck for continual success in the coming year.”

For more information about the Excellence Awards visit:

This year’s 2024 CCIM Excellence Awards Winners (Utah Chapter):

Hall of Fame

Nathan Ricks

Co-Founder, STACK Real Estate

Architectural Project of the Year

HELIX Office Building (MHTN Architects)

Architectural Firm of the Year

MHTN Architects

General Contractor of the Year

Big-D Construction

General Contractor Project of the Year

The West Quarter (Jacobsen Construction)

Community Lender of the Year

Katie Black (Zions Bank)

Commercial Lender of the Year

Aaron Munro (BOK Financial)

Commercial Mortgage Broker of the Year

Johnny Clawson, CCIM (Clawson Group)

Private Money Lender of the Year

Nick Etherington (Taylor Derrick Capital, LLC)

Retail Broker of the Year

Scott Brady (Mountain West Commercial)

Industrial Broker of the Year

Kyle Roberts (Newmark)

Office Broker of the Year

Chris Falk, CCIM (Newmark)

Multifamily Broker of the Year

Greg Barratt (Berkadia)

Investment Broker of the Year

Kip Paul (Cushman & Wakefield)

Multidisciplinary Broker of the Year

James Bullington (Colliers International)

Specialty Broker of the Year

Matt Porter (Mountain West Commercial)

Rookie Broker of the Year

Rhett Rasmussen (JLL)

Top Transactions:

Top Office Lease

Myriad Genetics | Nadia Letey and Scott Wilmarth of CBRE

Top Retail Lease

Vasa | Dan Moore, Rob Moore and Tyson Moore of Colliers International

Top Industrial Lease

Northrop Grumman | Jeremy Jensen and Michael Jeppesen of Colliers International

Top Investment Sale

SLC Hospitality Portfolio | Bryce Blanchard of Newmark

Top Land Sale

HCA – West Jordan Land | Chris Falk and Braxton Willie of Newmark

Top Multifamily Sale

Ascend at Northshore | Patrick Bodnar of CBRE

Top Industrial Sale

I-215 Logistics | Tom Dischmann, Jeff Richards, Matt McAfee and Chris Liddell of CBRE

Top Office Sale

US Bank Downtown Office | Trigger Reital and Jeff Rossi of Newmark

Top Retail Sale

Highbury Shopping Center | Kip Paul, Michael King and JT Redd of Cushman & Wakefield

Top Specialty Sale

SLC Hospitality Portfolio | Bryce Blanchard of Newmark


The Utah CCIM Chapter created the Utah CCIM Excellence Awards, now the premier gathering of business leaders in Utah, to recognize the accomplishments of outstanding men and women who exemplify the highest degree of business excellence in the commercial real estate industry. The CCIM designation, or Certified Commercial Investment Member, is a premier commercial real estate certification that requires 100+ hours of training and considerable investment. Learn more at