Giant in our City

On April 25, 2024, the Salt Lake Chamber will honor Clark D. Ivory, CEO of Ivory Homes, as the 45th Giant in our City!

The Giant in our City award honors those with exceptional and distinguished service, as well as extraordinary professional achievement, and is widely recognized as the most prestigious business award given in Utah.

Thursday, April 25, 2024
6:00 PM to 9:00 PM
Grand America Hotel
Table $3,000 | Individual Seat $250
Sponsorship Opportunities Available

“As a business leader and philanthropist, Clark Ivory has made a lasting mark on our community. From excellence in home building, to his leadership and hands-on service finding solutions to some of our biggest challenges, Clark is always finding ways to help our community prosper. We are thrilled to recognize Clark with this award and cannot wait to see what he will do next.”

-Derek Miller, President & CEO, Salt Lake Chamber

Clark D. Ivory leads Ivory Homes, Utah’s Number One Homebuilder since 1988. Ivory was ProBuilder’s National Home Builder of the Year in 2021. Clark’s business accomplishments, leadership acumen, community spirit, and family focus distinguish him as a prominent business leader, philanthropist, statesperson, and father.

Clark grew up in the shadows of the Wasatch Mountains in Millcreek, Utah. As a slightly above average student with a passion for tennis, football, and selling innovative new products, he cultivated the art of selling at the young age of 14. He traveled door to door to sell Paper Mate erasable pens and Nike athletic shoes to various teams with their team logos stenciled on the back.

After one year of college, Clark served a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints to Rome, Italy. While studying Italian in the Mission Training Center, he met Christine Cahoon who served in Milan, Italy. They married a year after his mission and built an inspiring life together.

Clark graduated from the University of Utah in 1988 and received an MBA from Harvard Business School in 1992.

Clark purchased Ivory Homes in 2000 and built upon his father’s legacy of principled leadership. Ivory Homes has built more than 25,000 single family homes and 3,000 apartment homes for customers throughout Utah.

For nearly 20 years Ivory Homes focused on building semi-custom homes for move-up buyers in Utah. Recognizing the changing needs in Utah, the company’s focus shifted to building housing at every price point. As of January 1, 2024, Ivory had 1,917 homes under construction — 667 traditional Ivory homes and 1,250 apartment homes, student housing or affordable townhomes for its non-profit.

Clark served as a director of the Salt Lake City Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco from 2006 to 2011, including three years as chair. He also served on the University of Utah’s Board of Trustees from 2007 to 2014, serving five years as chair. In 2005 he chaired the Salt Lake Chamber Board of Governors and more recently co-chairs Utah Community Builders — the Chamber’s non-profit entity that focuses on employee mental health and family- friendly workplaces. Clark helped found the Utah Impact Partnership (, advancing impact solutions for homelessness. He also helped start the Utah Housing Preservation Fund ( In 2018 Clark and his daughter Abby launched the non-profit Ivory Innovations (, which showcases the most promising innovators in housing affordability.

Clark and Christine believe in the power of education to improve lives and support civil society. Their philanthropic spirit and commitment to education includes gifting more than 4,100 scholarships to students at Utah universities and colleges. They recently opened Ivory University House (, providing housing for 624 students next to the University of Utah. All proceeds from this project accrue to student scholarships, internships, and housing stipends.

Clark, Christine, and their son Ellis lived in Bucharest from 2014 to 2017 where they served as mission leaders of the Romania-Moldova Mission. This experience heightened their awareness of human suffering and increased their commitment to helping those in need.

Clark and Christine are the parents of four daughters and one son. They have four grandchildren and hope for many more.

Past Honorees

2020-Present 2010-2019 2000-2009 1990-1999 1980-1989 1970-1979
2020: Governor Gary R. Herbert 2010: Bishop Carolyn Tanner Irish 2000: Verl Topham 1990: S. Chris Johnson 1981: John W. Gallivan 1970: Eric C. Aaberg
2021: Katharine and Robert Garff 2011: Bishop H. David Burton 2001: Spencer Eccles 1992: Gov. Calvin R. Rampton 1982: George S. Eccles 1972: Clarence Bamberger
2022: Ray D. Pickup 2012: Kem Gardner 2002: W. Mitt Romney 1994: G. Frank Joklik 1984: Richard A. Van Winkle 1974: E.M. Naughton
2023: Wilford Clyde 2013: Harris H. Simmons and A. Scott Anderson 2003: Don Cash, Nick Rose and President Gordon B. Hinckley 1995: Fred S. Ball 1985: Wendell J. Ashton 1977: John M. and Glenn Wallace
2014: Michael O. Leavitt 2005: Jon M. Huntsman 1998: Kenneth Y. Knight 1986: Arch L. Madsen 1978: N. Eldon Tanner
2015: Gail Miller 2006: James LeVoy Sorenson 1999: Scott S. Parker 1987: B.Z. Kastler
2016: Ron Jibson 2007: Larry H. Miller
2017: Lane Beattie 2008: William H. (Bill) Nelson
2018: Senator Orrin Hatch 2009: Roger Boyer and Ellis Ivory
2019: Fred Lampropoulos