Salt Lake business community’s highest honor recognizes local leader’s contributions and positive impact throughout Utah

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH (January 24, 2022) – The Salt Lake Chamber today announced that Ray Pickup of WCF Insurance will be honored with the 43rd Giant in our City award. The award recognizes those with exceptional and distinguished service, as well as extraordinary professional achievement, and is widely known as the most prestigious business award given in Utah. 

“There are many individuals in our community who time and again step up to support the greater community, and within this select group Ray Pickup is first among equals,” said Derek Miller, president and CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber and Downtown Alliance, in announcing the award. “Whether he is donating time at the local food bank or raising funds for a grant program, Ray and WCF Insurance are among the first to lend a helping hand and say, ‘What can I do to help?’ This is at the heart of Ray’s very nature, recognized by everyone who knows him, and I would be one of the first to say our community owes him a debt of gratitude. We are delighted to be able to recognize him as a ‘Giant in our City.’”

Ray Pickup currently serves as a director and chief executive officer of WCF Insurance. He joined WCF in 1993 as CFO, became COO in 2006, and president and CEO in 2008. Prior to WCF, Pickup was vice president of finance at First Health Strategies and a senior audit manager for Ernst & Young. He is active in the community and serves on several boards, including the Salt Lake Chamber Board of Directors, the Economic Development Corporation of Utah Board of Trustees as the Audit Committee chair, the Junior Achievement of Utah Advisory Board, and the University of Utah Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute Advisory Board. He is also a member of the U.S. Department of Transportation Air Ambulance and Patient Advisory Committee as representative of the workers’ compensation insurance industry. Pickup holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Brigham Young University and is a certified public accountant.

“I am overwhelmed and honored to receive this recognition,” said Pickup. “I’m grateful to live in the great state of Utah and to associate with all of the amazing people who make Utah a great place to live and do business. I especially appreciate the Salt Lake Chamber for the outstanding work they do in representing Utah business.”

The award will be presented at the 2021 Giant in our City celebration, May 19, 2022, at the Grand America Hotel. 

For more information: click here.



The Salt Lake Chamber is Utah’s largest and longest-standing business association. A statewide chamber of commerce with members in all 29 Utah counties, the Chamber represents the broad interests of the state’s 63,000-plus employers, which employ more than 1.4 million Utahns. This includes thousands of Chamber members and their employees. With roots that date back to 1887, the Chamber stands as the voice of business, supports its members’ success and champion’s community prosperity. 

About the Chamber

The Salt Lake Chamber is Utah’s largest business association and Utah’s business leader. A statewide chamber of commerce with members in all 29 Utah counties, the Chamber represents 8,000 businesses and approximately 500,000 Utah jobs—nearly half the workforce of our state. With roots that date back to 1887, the Chamber stands as the voice of business, supports its members’ success and champions community prosperity. 

About A Giant In Our City

The Salt Lake Chamber Board of Governors established the Giant In Our City award in 1969. The award was created to honor exceptional and distinguished public service and extraordinary professional achievement. It is considered the Chamber’s most prestigious award and is given periodically by the Chamber Board of Governors. 

Past Giant In Our City Recipients 

1970: Eric C. Aaberg

1972: Clarence Bamberger

1974: E.M. Naughton

1977: John M. and Glenn Wallace

1978: N. Eldon Tanner

1981: John W. Gallivan

1982: George S. Eccles

1984: Richard A. Van Winkle

1985: Wendell J. Ashton

1986: Arch L. Madsen

1987: B.Z. Kastler

1990: S. Chris Johnson

1992: Gov. Calvin R. Rampton

1994: G. Frank Joklik

1995: Fred S. Ball

1998: Kenneth Y. Knight

1999: Scott S. Parker

2000: Verl Topham

2001: Spencer Eccles

2002: W. Mitt Romney

2003: Don Cash

2003: Nick Rose

2003: President Gordon B. Hinckley

2005: Jon M. Huntsman

2006: James LeVoy Sorenson

2007: Larry H. Miller

2008: William H. (Bill) Nelson

2009: Roger Boyer

2009: Ellis Ivory

2010: Bishop Carolyn Tanner Irish

2011: Bishop H. David Burton

2012: Kem Gardner

2013: Harris H. Simmons

2013: A. Scott Anderson

2014: Michael O. Leavitt

2015: Gail Miller

2016: Ron Jibson

2017: Lane Beattie

2018: Senator Orrin Hatch

2019: Fred Lampropoulos

2020: Governor Gary R. Herbert

2021: Robert & Kathi Garff