The Salt Lake Chapter of the BYU Management Society will honor Derek Miller, President & CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber, as the 2024 Distinguished Utahn on Thursday, May 16th, at Little America Hotel.  This annual award recognizes men and women in Utah who’ve demonstrated exemplary business, community and civic leadership.    

In 2018, Derek began his service as President & CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber, the state’s largest and longest serving business association that “Stands as the Voice of Business.”  In this role, Derek leads the business community in advocating and ensuring Utah’s continued economic prosperity.  Derek once again answered the call to public service during the pandemic by leading the State’s Economic Response Task Force, a coalition that brought Utah through the crisis as the top state for saving lives and livelihoods.

Mike Poulter, Salt Lake Chapter board member and Distinguished Utahn Gala co-chair said, “Derek Miller is an extraordinary leader.  His long resume of helping to build Utah’s business environment into one that is the envy of the nation truly impresses. His insight, hard work and shared vision with other leaders have contributed greatly to this success.”  Former Governor Gary Herbert also lauded Derek as “an architect of economic opportunity and innovation” and “instrumental in transforming Utah into one of the most competitive and fastest growing economies in the country.”

In response to this year’s award, Derek said, “While I am truly honored to be this year’s recipient, I believe each of us has the capability to be a ‘Distinguished Utahn.’ Whether through volunteering for a neighborhood school, mentoring a young professional or supporting a community initiative, we all can have an impact. I invite everyone to look within themselves and see how we can contribute to the communities in which we reside. When we lift one, we have the opportunity to lift many.”

Derek attended Brigham Young University where he studied International Relations and obtained a Master’s Degree in Public Administration and Juris Doctorate.